Introducing Myself

August 27, 2019 at 19:02 (UT/GMT)
(Scorpio) ancient_astrology
Introducing Myself
This is actually my second time on Astro-Seek, so some people here will remember me. I took about a month break. Now I have returned.

I am a student in Chris Brennan´s online astrology course and am almost complete with those studies. As such, I am a proponent of Ancient Hellenistic astrology, so you may notice some incongruencies with modern astrology. For example, I use whole sign houses, I do not adhere to the ABC house=sign system. My approach is not as psychological as many on here. Ancient Astrology also tends to be a bit more harsh than modern astrology, i.e., no positive spin if I don´t see one. There are also a bunch of techniques that I use that you will not have heard of.

In addition to this I am a student of Christopher Warnock´s magic course, as well as a student of Catherine Yronwode´s Hoodoo course. Astrology provides insight into certain aspects of fate and their influence on us. There are some things we just can´t change. Other things we can influence. Magic is the way to do that.

Other than that, my professional background is in Software Engineering. I live in the heart of Silicon Valley and have been involved with that profession for a long time, though I am slowly letting go of that. I also am a bit of a linguist. I speak French, Italian and Chinese. I am currently studying Ancient Greek so that I can read the ancient texts. I am also interested in studying Babylonian for the same reason, to go back to the very roots of Western Astrology. For that matter, I may take up Qu´ranic Arabic at some point, because so much of Medieval Astrology came from the Islamic world.

Now you might think I´m a serious person. No, I´m not. I like to poke a lot of fun at myself and others when they start taking themselves too seriously. Pleased to meet you. Always happy to make new friends, so hit me up by message if you want to chat or get to know me.